ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Dodd City Independent School District

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Editorial graphic for Dodd City Independent School District
Editorial caption by Our School Board; base: Carl Hårleman · public-domain

Who runs Dodd City ISD

A small rural district with one campus in Fannin County

Dodd City ISD serves about 310 to 330 students, pre-K through 12th grade, in Fannin County, Texas, with an elementary school and a junior high and high school. A seven-member elected Board of Trustees hires the superintendent (Bruce Mauppin), adopts the budget and tax rate, and approves policies, usually by unanimous vote at a monthly meeting. Many decisions are made after closed sessions on personnel.

About $5.6 million budget

2026-27 spending is planned at $5.56 million, almost flat from 2025-26.

Debt paid off

The board paid off its 2011 bonds early in February 2026 ($495,212.50).

Using savings for projects

Up to $265,000 from fund balance for the parking lot; $500,000 in fund transfers on the October 2026 agenda.

No armed guard

The board declared a good-cause exception to the state armed-officer requirement in September 2026.

Minutes are short and list motions, not discussion, so the reasons behind most decisions are not recorded.

Where the district stands

2026-27 proposed total spendingverified
5,557,320 USD
2026-27 instruction spending per studentverified
9,516 USD
Enrollment reported April 2026 (elementary 172, JH 61, HS 95)verified
328 students
Board meetings with posted agendas, Dec 2025-Oct 2026verified
11 meetings

Major projects

Parking lot resurfacing

approved

Bid from Drake accepted, not to exceed $265,000.

Next: Completion not reported in minutes.
  1. Bid approved 6-0

Funding

Fund balance

School bus seatbelt compliance

planned

The superintendent will repair or replace buses to meet the seatbelt law by September 1, 2029. A 2011 bus was approved for sale in April 2026.

Next: Full compliance by September 1, 2029.
  1. Seatbelt report approved
  2. Sale of 2011 bus approved

Funding

Not stated

Recent news

Board agendas and minutes posted on the district website, December 2025 through October 2026, plus the posted 2026-27 budget summary and meeting calendar.

Get alerts for Dodd City Independent School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.