ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Brentwood Union Free School District

How Brentwood's public schools are funded, governed and changing.

The historic Modern Times School, in Brentwood, New York, fully obstructed by the chain-link fence surrounding Brentwood High School.
DanTD · by-sa

How is Brentwood funded?

State aid first, local property tax second, under the state tax cap

Brentwood is a large Suffolk County district with a 2026-27 budget of $727,096,955. The district's finance office says state aid, mainly foundation aid, supplies well over $400 million. The rest comes from a local property tax levy of $118,389,147 that the state tax cap limits each year, plus savings from past years (fund balance), meal reimbursements and small fees. Voters approve the budget each May.

Budget grew 5.6%

The 2026-27 budget is $38.6 million above 2025-26's $688.5 million. Health insurance alone rises $7.8 million (8.7%).

Voters decide the budget

The annual vote on May 19, 2026 approved the budget 632 to 215 in the polling places on the posted tally, along with two school-bus propositions.

Money set aside for buildings

The budget moves $36 million into a capital fund (down from $39 million). The district says it has used this line for several years to pay for construction without a bond vote.

Fewer students each year

Enrollment fell from 17,486 in September 2025 to 16,381 in September 2026. State aid and staffing plans depend on enrollment.

A falling student count does not by itself mean the district is in trouble. The public papers show the budget passed with large margins and the tax levy stayed within the state cap.

Where the district stands

2026-27 budgetverified
$727,096,955

Up 5.6% from $688,525,221 in 2025-26.

2026-27 property tax levyverified
$118,389,147

The resolution states the levy does not exceed the statutory cap.

Enrollment, Sept 11, 2026verified
16,381 students

Down from 17,486 on Sept 25, 2025 (a drop of 1,105, about 6%).

Budget per studentcontext
$44,387

Context: $727,096,955 divided by 16,381 students. Includes the $36 million capital transfer, special education, transportation and benefits, so it is not a classroom-only figure.

Elected trusteesverified
7 seats

Plus one student ex-officio member.

Schoolsverified
17 buildings

A high school, a freshman campus, four middle schools and eleven elementary schools.

Major projects

New space at four elementary schools

Environmental review done April 2026

A construction project repairs mechanical and electrical systems and adds about 9,000 to 9,500 square feet at East, Southeast, Southwest and Twin Pines elementary schools. The resolution does not say what the new space will hold.

Next: Design and bid steps; no dates are posted
  1. Board makes its SEQRA environmental determination (Type II action)
  2. Board awards architectural services to H2M (start Aug 20, 2026); project link not stated

Funding

Not stated; the district funds construction through a yearly transfer to its capital fund ($36 million in 2026-27)

No cost figure appears in the resolution.

Summer 2026 building work

Underway

Air conditioning for gyms, cafeterias and libraries, replacing portable classrooms with permanent additions at the Freshman Campus and Southwest, a culinary center, a turf football field, parking lots and a new fire alarm at the high school. The track is due spring 2027.

Next: Track surface in spring 2027
  1. Board authorizes Belfor for the culinary building under a cooperative contract
  2. Facilities update presented to the board and public

Funding

Capital fund transfers from the general budget

The 2026-27 budget transfers $36 million to the capital fund.

Child safety zone busing

Approved by voters May 19, 2026

Two zones near the Freshman Campus and the high school let the district bus students who would otherwise cross hazardous roads. Staff estimated about 13 buses and roughly $1.3 million a year.

Next: Bus service for eligible students in the zones
  1. Board establishes the two child safety zones
  2. Voters approve the bus propositions (646-198 and 622-216)

Funding

General fund transportation budget ($42.5 million proposed for 2026-27)

The propositions were separate from the main budget vote.

Weapons screening at secondary entrances

In use at the high school and Freshman Campus

After a three-day Evolv pilot in December 2025, the board approved Policy 8136 on metal detector use. The district said in August 2026 that Evolv is running at both schools.

Next: Expansion decisions have not been posted
  1. Three-day Evolv pilot begins at Brentwood High School
  2. Board approves Policy 8136, Use of Metal Detectors

Funding

Pilot was free; ongoing cost is in the security budget

The security director requested added security contract funds for it in the 2026-27 budget.

Local elections & school board members

Elections & votes

Public votePassed

2026-27 school budget ($727,096,955)

Brentwood · $727,096,955

Voters approved the 2026-27 budget and $118,389,147 tax levy, 632 yes to 215 no on the posted tally.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

Public votePassed

Proposition 2: Freshman Campus child safety zone transportation

Brentwood

Voters approved bus service for students in the Freshman Campus child safety zone, 646 to 198.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

Public votePassed

Proposition 3: High School child safety zone transportation

Brentwood

Voters approved bus service for students in the Brentwood High School child safety zone, 622 to 216.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

Board electionPassed

Board of Education election, two seats

Brentwood

Brandon Garcia (604 votes) and Eileen Harman (664 votes) were elected to three-year terms starting July 1, 2026; they were sworn in July 7, 2026.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

Board electionProposed

2027 annual budget vote and Board of Education election

Brentwood

Brentwood holds its annual budget vote and board election each May; the 2027-28 budget calendar was adopted Sept 16, 2026. The exact 2027 date and open seats are not yet posted on the district site.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

School board members

Recent news

Figures marked verified come from a district document and cite it. Calculations and outside comparisons are marked context. The picture is built from board agendas, minutes and recordings from November 2025 to October 2026, plus the district's budget, plan and policy documents.

Get alerts for Brentwood Union Free School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district