ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Camas County School District #121

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Editorial graphic for Camas County School District #121
Editorial caption by Our School Board; base: Carl Hårleman · public-domain

How Camas County schools are paid for and who decides

A very small rural district (about 170 students on one campus) that depends on state money and voter-approved supplemental levies

Camas County School District #121 runs one K-8 school and one high school on a single campus in Fairfield, Idaho. Most of its money comes from the state of Idaho, which funds schools mainly by attendance. In 2024-25, $3.31 million of the $4.0 million in all-funds revenue came from the state. Local voters also approve short-term supplemental levies for staff pay, supplies and music. A five-member Board of Trustees, each elected from a zone, sets policy and the budget. Starting in 2026-27 the superintendent works one day a week, and the principal also serves as assistant superintendent.

State money is most of the budget

State revenue was $3.31 million of $4.0 million in 2024-25 all-funds revenue.

Levy vote in November 2026

Trustees put a supplemental levy on the November 2026 ballot to replace expiring levies.

Bond failed, state stepped in

After voters rejected a bond in November 2025, state facilities money (including a $1.3 million award) is paying for building repairs.

Part-time superintendent

The superintendent works one day a week in 2026-27; the principal also serves as assistant superintendent.

The fund balance grew from $1.41 million to $1.55 million in 2024-25, and the auditor called the district's finances sound in August 2026.

Where the district stands

All-funds revenue, 2024-25 actualverified
3,999,974 USD
State revenue, 2024-25 actual (budget was $2.54M)verified
3,307,393 USD
All-funds spending and transfers, 2024-25 actualverified
4,026,305 USD
Fund balance, June 30, 2025 (up from $1.41M)verified
1,550,828 USD
All-funds spending per student, 2024-25context
23,966 USD

Calculation: $4,026,305 / 168 students (NCES Common Core of Data). Different years; context only. Includes capital and transfers.

Second state facilities cooperative fund award, Jan. 2026verified
1,300,000 USD

Major projects

State-funded building repairs (HVAC, gym, locker rooms, restrooms)

under construction; old gym reopened Sept. 2026

After the November 2025 bond failed, the state paid for safety-related repairs. The work covers HVAC (with hopes of adding air conditioning to the elementary), the gym, locker rooms and restrooms. Wright Brothers is the builder and LKV Architects is managing change orders.

Next: Finish locker rooms, restrooms and final work; change orders were on the October 12, 2026 agenda.
  1. Bond levy reported failed
  2. State funding contract signed
  3. Second $1.3M award
  4. Wright Brothers bid approved
  5. Old gym reopens

Funding

Idaho Public School Facilities Cooperative Fund (second award; first award amount not stated)

Sale of the district teacher housing (teacherage)

appraisal done; sealed-bid notice on October agenda

The house at 309 Alturas Ave. W. failed a radon test. The district's attorney advised selling it if it is no longer needed. Trustees declared it surplus and plan to use the money for building repairs, possibly including a donated music building.

Next: Sealed bids after the October 2026 notice.
  1. Radon test fails; sale suggested
  2. Attorney advises sale
  3. Declared surplus; appraisal ordered
  4. Sealed-bid notice on agenda

Funding

Sale proceeds may pay for repairs to school buildings

November 2026 supplemental levy

on the ballot

Trustees approved putting a supplemental levy on the November ballot to replace levies that pay for staff salaries, supplies and the music program.

Next: Voters decide on November 3, 2026.
  1. Election resolution approved
  2. Election day

Funding

Local property tax (amount not stated in minutes)

Recent news

Board of Trustees agendas and minutes from the district's public Google Drive folder 'Board Meetings Agendas & Minutes', linked from www.camascountyschools.org (October 13, 2025 through the October 12, 2026 agenda). Also the 2024-25 Statement of Financial Condition and the 2026-27 K-5 and 6-12 student handbooks from the same site.

Get alerts for Camas County School District #121

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.