ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Canton Public School District

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Canton High School
Scoutandboo · by-sa

What Canton's current public records show

Strong minute, finance, plan, and handbook coverage; current agenda-content gap

Current records show Board actions, audited finances, budget projections, attendance and dropout plans, and school-specific student rules.

FY2025 General Fund revenue exceeded expenditures

The audit reports $41.70 million in General Fund revenue and $33.47 million in expenditures, with a $33.26 million ending fund balance.

FY2027 budget projects a General Fund increase

The budget projects $63.55 million in revenue, $48.20 million in expenditures and $11.75 million in net other financing uses, yielding a projected $3.61 million fund-balance increase.

Auditors reported no findings

The September 24 audit gives unmodified opinions and reports no financial-statement, federal or tested state-law findings, but the district was not classified as a low-risk auditee.

Attendance and dropout documents set goals and intervention steps

The July 29 plans call for early family contact and supports, and set future improvement targets that are not reported outcomes.

Student device rules vary by school section

The current handbook permits nonvisible devices in some sections, prohibits middle-school use and possession during the day, and bars devices at the alternative school.

The minutes archive documents adopted actions through May 2026, but current agenda proposals are unavailable because the public portal denied anonymous content access.

Where the district stands

FY2025 General Fund revenueverified
41,701,064 USD
FY2025 General Fund expendituresverified
33,470,919 USD
FY2027 projected General Fund revenueverified
63,552,366.25 USD
FY2027 projected General Fund expendituresverified
48,195,960.39 USD

Major projects

Canton Rosenwald School/Cameron construction in progress

construction in progress at the FY2025 fiscal year end

Audit Note 5 reports $240,946 of construction-in-progress costs incurred and an $84,670 remaining commitment at June 30, 2025. Those amounts are not presented as the complete project budget.

Next: The reviewed audit does not state the next approval, construction, or completion milestone.
  1. The FY2025 audit reports construction in progress and the remaining commitment at fiscal year end.

Funding

Construction FY22 Fund; the audit does not state a complete project budget.

Recent news

This page uses official Board minutes and schedules, current district plans and handbook, district finance publications, and the Mississippi Office of the State Auditor archive. Every collected original was reviewed; image-only plans and handbook pages were checked visually alongside OCR.

Get alerts for Canton Public School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district