ourschoolboard.org

District overview

School District of Crandon

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

250401-N-SQ183-1113 POHNPEI, Federated States of Micronesia (Apr. 1, 2025) – Equipment Operator 2nd Class Derek Hoover, from Junction City, Ore., and Builder 2nd Class Chase Vanzile from Crandon, Wisconsin, paint basketball courts across Pohnpei at elementary schools to allow students to enjoy a newly refurbished court during recess, promoting increased physical activity and providing a safe, enjoyable space to exercise. NMCB-3 serves as the stand-in engineering force for Commander, U.S. 7th Fle
U.S. Navy photo by Petty Officer 2nd Class Matthew Courter · public-domain

How is Crandon governed and funded?

2026–27 budget information

An elected school board governs the district. Wisconsin state aid and local property taxes support public schools. The October 26 annual meeting agenda listed a proposed $8,805,808 total levy; the agenda alone does not establish its approval or certification.

Referendum

The April 10 board of canvassers minutes record passage of the April referendum by 1,026 to 998. The exact question and certified districtwide outcome should be confirmed against the election notice.

Student devices

The posted policy permits use before and after school and at lunch if it does not disrupt learning. Other use requires teacher or administrator approval; the posted confiscation language contains an ambiguity.

Artificial intelligence

The posted 2023 AI policy authorizes the district administrator to support AI use consistent with district policies and law. It does not by itself establish a current tool inventory or new purchases.

The October annual meeting agenda states proposed amounts, not verified final action. Current actual per-pupil spending and any individual property-tax effect were not established.

Where the district stands

Proposed 2026–27 levycontext
$8,805,808

Agenda proposal; final approval and certification not verified.

2024–25 district report card scorecontext
63.5 score

A score, not a percentage of students; the presentation cautions against comparing overall scores across years.

Major projects

Wrestling hoist installation

Installation approved

The board approved installation on July 8. The minutes do not state cost or confirm completion.

Next: Verify final cost and completion.
  1. Board approves installation

Funding

Not stated in reviewed minutes

Cost and funding account not established.

Playground equipment

Installation reported

September board minutes thank the grant writer and crews who assembled and installed new playground equipment. The minutes do not state the cost, grant amount or opening date.

Next: Verify project cost and opening date.
  1. Installation reported

Funding

Grant support reported; amount not stated

Final project cost not established.

Recent news

View the news feed →

Resources

Practical guides to school phone policies, district budgets, and administrator hiring.

Explore resources →

Reviewed official board and committee records, election canvass and current policy texts, distinguishing proposed action from recorded decisions.

Get alerts for School District of Crandon

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.