District overview
Hillsboro City School District
A five-building district serving about 2,100 students in Hillsboro and Highland County, Ohio, with new principals, new math programs and free meals in 2026-27

How Hillsboro City Schools is paid for
Hillsboro City Schools is an ordinary Ohio district funded mainly by the state school-funding formula plus local property taxes, with federal grants for low-income students and special education. An elected five-member board (Bill Myers, president; Beverly Rhoads, vice president) meets the third Monday of each month. Superintendent Tim Davis runs the schools and Treasurer Ben Teeters manages the money. Students in 11th and 12th grade can also attend Laurel Oaks through Great Oaks Career Campuses.
General Fund
$36.45 million in final FY2026 appropriations; the FY2027 tax budget plans $37.69 million in General Fund spending.
Federal grants
FY2027 grants include $783,752 Title I for low-income students, $635,450 for special education (IDEA B) and $212,500 for early childhood education.
Cash on hand
$11.20 million on August 31, 2026, up from $9.83 million a year earlier; monthly spending is about $2.8 million.
Property tax worries
Board members reported that state proposals to cut or end property taxes could hurt school funding; a state refund of the inflation tax credit is promised for only one more year.
Cash dipped well below the prior year in spring 2026 ($8.68 million in April versus $14.90 million) but recovered by summer, and the finance committee called the district's finances healthy in August 2026. The five-year forecast itself is not posted online.
Where the district stands
$36,450,460 General Fund appropriations divided by 2,136 enrolled students; includes all district-wide costs and is context, not an official figure.
Major projects
Science of Reading ELA curriculum (Ohio Improvement Plan)
in_progressThe district's One Plan aims to raise reading progress by 5% for all student groups by May 30, 2027, using a new Science of Reading-based PreK-12 ELA curriculum and classroom coaching.
- New ELA curriculum selected
- All teachers finished Science of Reading training
- Full use of new curriculum in 2025-26
- Plan goal deadline
Funding
Federal and state improvement funds (amount not stated)
New middle and high school math programs
in_progressAmplify Math (high school) and Connected Math Project 4 (middle school) were adopted in April 2026 for use starting 2026-27.
- Board adopted both programs
- First school year using them
Funding
Not stated
District school resource officers
in_progressThe board created an SRO job description and pay scale in July 2026 and hired two officers in August 2026.
- SRO job description and pay scale approved
- Two SROs hired; security-officer contract resolution
Funding
Not stated
Middle school roof and summer repairs
completeA new metal roof on the middle school, parking-lot and driveway sealing, painting and Learning Academy improvements were done in summer 2026.
- Roof materials delivered, work started
- Middle school roof completed
Funding
Not stated
Recent news
View the news feed →Resources
Practical guides to school phone policies, district budgets, and administrator hiring.
Explore resources →Built from the board's approved minutes (November 2025 to September 2026) posted in the district's public Google Drive archive, the district's Neola online policy manual (phone and AI policies), and the Ohio Improvement Plan on the district website. Two scanned minutes were read with OCR.
Get alerts for Hillsboro City School District
We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.
Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.