ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Hopkins County Schools

How the Hopkins County Board of Education governs districtwide decisions and what its published minutes show from September 2025 through August 2026.

Who makes district decisions?

A five-member Hopkins County Board of Education approves district budgets, policies, contracts, and projects

Hopkins County Schools is governed by a five-member board organized by Divisions I through V. The official minutes show board approval of the annual working and tentative budgets, major facilities contracts, school-specific projects, district plans, and policies. The collected minutes do not publish a full revenue breakdown or per-student spending figure, so this page does not infer either.

Board membership

The district identifies Martha Phelps, Steve Faulk, Shannon Embry, Nicholas Foster, and Kerri Scisney as its five board members.

Budget oversight

The board unanimously approved the 2025-26 working budget on September 22, 2025, then approved the 2026-27 tentative budget and salary schedule on May 18, 2026.

Facilities work

Published minutes trace field-and-turf/track work from initial approval to contracts, change orders, and multi-million-dollar construction payments.

Spending gap

The reviewed minutes list individual approvals but do not provide total district spending, revenue, enrollment, or per-student spending.

The minutes establish what the board approved. They do not by themselves show completed construction, the final cost of every project, or how implementation affected individual schools.

What is on the public record

Official board-minute PDFs reviewedverified
17 minutes
High-signal decisions published as alertsverified
6 alerts
Field-and-turf construction invoice approved July 13verified
2,027,354.4 USD

Major projects

Field turf and track improvements (BG26-232)

Contracting and construction payments approved in board minutes

The board approved initial project steps in January, a contractor proposal and bond-adviser engagement in February, further agreements and change orders through July, and major project invoices. The minutes identify the project but do not state its final budget or completion date.

Next: Future official minutes or project records showing completion, total cost, and which fields or schools are served.
  1. Board approved the initial BG1 for field turf and track improvements.
  2. Board approved a Tencate proposal and financial-adviser engagement for bonds connected to the project.
  3. Board approved a $2,027,354.40 construction invoice and a $121,000 architectural-services invoice.
  4. Board approved additional field-and-turf project payments, including a $1,471,934.85 construction invoice.

Funding

Board minutes identify project BG26-232 and a bond-adviser engagement; the final financing total is not stated in the reviewed minutes.

James Madison Middle School HVAC improvements (BG27-069)

Initial project approval recorded

At its August 3 meeting, the board deferred and later approved initial BG1 action with Trane for HVAC improvements at James Madison Middle School.

Next: A later project approval, contract, or construction update that states scope, cost, and schedule.
  1. Board minutes record deferral and later initial approval of the BG1 with Trane.

Funding

Not stated in the reviewed minutes.

Recent news

Reviewed all 17 collected official Hopkins County Board of Education minutes PDFs dated September 8, 2025 through August 3, 2026 from the district-linked KSBA archive.

Get alerts for Hopkins County Schools

We read every agenda, packet, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district