How the elected board is responding to enrollment loss, budget pressure, and school buildings.
How are district decisions made and funded?
A seven-member elected board sets budgets, staffing, school use, and policy
Kansas state aid and local property taxes support operations. Because state funding follows enrollment, the district has reduced spending as student counts fall.
Enrollment pressure
Enrollment fell by 142 students in fall 2025, with an estimated $1.113 million general-fund impact.
Budget reductions
The district reported 40 absorbed positions and a 30% reduction to school building budgets.
Building changes
The board sold the former Nettie Hartnett center and voted to close David Brewer Elementary after 2026-27.
Spending gap
Comparable total spending per student is not stated in the reviewed recordings.
The board said consolidating space can save operating money, while families raised concerns about disruption, class sizes, and long-term enrollment changes.
Where the district stands
Fall 2025 enrollment declineverified
142 students
Estimated general-fund impactverified
1.113 million dollars
Projected 2026-27 enrollmentverified
3,035 students
Comparable spending per studentcontext
Not reported not available
Reviewed records do not provide matching total-spending and enrollment figures.
Major projects
David Brewer Elementary transition
Closure approved after 2026-27
The board approved closing the school as enrollment declined and elementary buildings operated below capacity.
Next: Publish student assignments, staff transitions, and building-use plans before the 2027-28 year.
Special meeting reviewed the closure proposal and public concerns.
Board held a public hearing and adopted the closure resolution.
Funding
Operating-budget savings; exact realized savings were not established in the reviewed recording
Leavenworth High athletic surfaces
Tennis and track work approved
The board approved tennis-court restoration and advanced track-and-field surface work.
Next: Complete construction and reopen the surfaces for students.
Board approved $50,000 for three south tennis courts.
Board approved the track-and-field restoration recommendation.
Funding
District capital funds; tennis portion $50,000
Local elections & school board members
Elections & votes
Board electionScheduled
Leavenworth USD 453 Board of Education election
Leavenworth USD 453
Leavenworth elects board members to staggered four-year terms in November of odd-numbered election years; seats and candidates were not yet listed.