ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Logan County Schools

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Editorial graphic for Logan County Schools
Editorial caption by Our School Board; base: Carl Hårleman · public-domain

How Logan County funds operations and advances two major capital projects

The Board approved a second-reading motion proposing FY2027 property-tax rates and adopted a working budget, advanced a Career and Technical Center addition through bid award, continued closeout work on the high-school addition and renovation, and placed a 5.9-cent construction tax question on the November ballot.

Logan County combines local property taxes with Kentucky SEEK and other state support, federal and grant programs, food-service revenue and restricted capital sources. The public minutes record adopted actions but do not include the FY2027 budget workbook, audited expense totals, per-pupil actual spending or capital-project budgets, so those amounts remain explicit gaps.

A September motion proposed FY2027 rates of 46.5 cents for real property and 47.4 cents for personal property per $100

The September 4 minutes say the Board unanimously approved a second-reading motion proposing those rates and 46.0 cents per $100 for motor vehicles. The minutes do not contain a later adopted-rate record or projected receipts.

Voters will decide a 5.9-cent construction tax

The official November 3 ballot asks whether to levy 5.9 cents per $100 of assessed real and personal property value for safe, up-to-date school buildings that meet state standards.

The Logan CTC addition advanced from design through bid award

The Board approved BG-1 in December, BG-2 and preliminary BG-3 in February, construction documents and bidding in April, and a bid-award recommendation plus revised BG-1 on May 28. The reviewed minutes do not identify the selected contractor, project budget or funding mix.

The high-school addition and renovation moved into component closeout

The Board approved multiple change orders from October through July and processed five BG-4 forms in June plus five more in August. The minutes do not state the cumulative contract value, change-order amounts or remaining completion work.

The district accepted two matched KETS offers totaling $62,391

The Board accepted and matched $35,652 in October and $26,739 in March. These are technology-assistance offers with equal district transfers, not total technology spending.

September minutes confirm adoption of the FY2027 working budget but state no fund totals. The reviewed archive also lacks the audit report presented in February, so audited annual spending, fund balances and per-pupil actuals cannot be responsibly calculated from the available records.

Where the district stands

FY2027 proposed real-property tax rate per $100verified
46.5 cents
FY2027 proposed personal-property tax rate per $100verified
47.4 cents
Proposed construction tax per $100verified
5.9 cents
Accepted KETS offers, before equal district matchesverified
62,391 dollars
Accepted SFCC offerverified
5,709 dollars

Major projects

Logan County CTC addition, BG 25-361

Bid award recommendation and revised BG-1 approved May 28, 2026

Board minutes document design, KDE project-form and bidding approvals through a bid award. The public minute files omit the award recipient, budget, funding sources and construction schedule.

Next: Watch subsequent minutes or project forms for construction progress, approved cost and funding sources.
  1. Board approved schematic design and BG-1.
  2. Board approved BG-2, preliminary BG-3, design-development documents and budget.
  3. Board approved construction documents, construction-document budget and bidding.
  4. Board approved bid-award recommendation and revised BG-1.
  5. Board approved change orders 001-004.

Funding

Not stated in the reviewed minutes.

Logan County High School addition and renovation, BG 23-201

Ten BG-4 component forms approved June-August 2026

The Board approved recurring change orders and component BG-4 forms, indicating closeout activity. The reviewed minutes do not provide original contract value, cumulative changes, payments or a final-completion date.

Next: Watch for final BG-5 closeout, total project cost and remaining punch-list work.
  1. Board approved change orders 044-047.
  2. Board approved five component BG-4 forms.
  3. Board approved five additional component BG-4 forms.

Funding

Not stated in the reviewed minutes.

Recent news

Twenty-two official Board and Finance Corporation minute files and six Chandlers Elementary SBDM agendas establish public governance records from October 2025 through September 2026. Three current district policies establish governance, personal-device and artificial-intelligence rules. The Secretary of State official ballot supplies election and construction-tax details.

Get alerts for Logan County Schools

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district