ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Middlesboro Independent School District

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Built in the late 1920s, this Classical Revival-style building was constructed to serve as Middlesboro Junior High School, supplementing the nearby Central School and Middlesboro High School, built in 1910 and 1920, respectively.  The building features a red brick exterior, stone trim, quoins, six-over-six double-hung windows, a stone surround at the main entrance bay at the center of the 20th Street facade, quoins at the corners of the building, and a rear gymnasium wing.  The building is a con
w_lemay · by-sa

What is Middlesboro’s Board considering this year?

The records list budget and tax proposals, bond payments, policy changes, staffing items and an upcoming October 20 special meeting.

The official records list agenda items and recommendations. The October 20 meeting was still upcoming when reviewed October 17, and the source path does not independently confirm outcomes.

The 2026-27 working budget was listed

The September 22 special-meeting agenda listed the FY2026-27 working budget.

Debt and financial items recur

Records list energy-conservation and school-facility bond-payment items, auditor selection, a working budget and a tax-rate proposal. The October 20 future agenda recommends a $15,922.50 Series 2015 energy-bond interest payment; it does not yet establish approval.

Policy and staffing items appear

The agendas list policy/procedure updates, revised school times, salary schedules, and abolition of the assistant superintendent position.

The records identify agenda items and recommendations. They do not include linked minutes, attachments, recordings, or transcripts that confirm votes, final budgets, debt balances, or completed staffing actions; the October 20, 2026 meeting was future when reviewed.

Where the district stands

Financial-audit fee listed in May agendaverified
19,250 dollars
Energy-conservation bond principal listed in April agendaverified
65,000 dollars

Major projects

Phase II elementary renovation

Debt-service item appears in July 2026 agenda

The July 21 agenda listed a $184,214.15 Y-12 Federal Credit Union payment for “Phase II Elementary Renovation,” including $141,748 principal and $42,466.15 interest. The action record does not state construction status, remaining balance, scope, or funding source.

Next: Later official minutes or facilities records would be needed to establish project scope, construction status, funding, or completion.
  1. Agenda listed debt payment connected to Phase II Elementary Renovation.

Funding

Not stated in the reviewed agenda/action record.

Based on 19 official Middlesboro Board agenda/action records reviewed from October 21, 2025 through the October 20, 2026 future agenda.

Get alerts for Middlesboro Independent School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district