District overview
Pendleton County Schools
Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

What the official record establishes
Pendleton County Schools is governed by a five-member elected Board. The collected record shows local tax action, state SEEK and KETS references, federal E-rate and grant funding, and restricted Fund 320 construction spending. It does not state an adopted districtwide per-pupil expenditure.
The Board controls district budgets, contracts, policy, and capital work
Approved records cover the working budget, tax rates, construction, technology, staffing allocations, calendars, legal action, and student rules.
Capital funding uses multiple restricted mechanisms
The record identifies Fund 320 for Northern Elementary HVAC, capital funds for the tennis courts, KETS matching assistance, and an E-rate-supported network project.
School councils govern local school matters
SBDM records show school-level budget, policy, safety, course, and improvement-plan work, but posted coverage is uneven across schools.
Technology rules cover phones and AI
The current phone rule restricts instructional-time use; the electronic-media policy requires responsible-use procedures for AI and generative AI.
The October 19 Board record and several school-council records are agendas only. Their listed items are proposals and do not establish final action.
Where the district stands
Major projects
Northern Elementary HVAC
October agenda proposes payment applications 6 and 7The Board approved an anticipated $2,984,454 Fund 320 plan, bids and project agreements, and successive payment applications. The October 19 agenda proposes another $318,771.72; because that meeting is future, those two payments are not reported as approved.
- Board approved planning with an anticipated $2,984,454 Fund 320 cost.
- Board approved bids, BG-2, and the AIA agreement.
- Board approved payment application 5 for $586,349.03.
- Future agenda proposes payment applications 6 and 7 totaling $318,771.72.
Funding
Fund 320, as stated in the November 17 KSBA action record and rationale.
Sharp Middle School tennis-court addition
BG-5 closeout approved July 20The project began in this review with a $675,985 Capital Funds Request, proceeded through payments and a drainage and relocation change order, and reached BG-5 closeout. The reviewed records do not provide a final reconciled project total.
- Board approved the $675,985 Capital Funds Request.
- Board approved the final listed payment of $159,369.60.
- Board approved the BG-5 project closeout.
Funding
Capital Funds Request approved October 20, 2025.
Recent news
Reviewed all 43 stored originals in chronological groups, including complete approved minutes and full current policy texts; reconciled each source URL and SHA-256; and checked official district, school, KSBA, policy, recording, and election sources.
Get alerts for Pendleton County Schools
We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.
View alerts for this district