ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Turner-Kansas City

How the elected board funds Turner schools and what projects are underway.

How does Turner pay for schools and projects?

State aid supplies most operating money; local taxes support operations, buildings, and bonds

Turner USD 202 is governed by an elected seven-member Board of Education. Kansas provides most General Fund money through its school formula, while local taxes help fund operations, facility work, technology, and voter-approved bond payments. The board also approves curriculum, leadership, and long-range district plans.

State-supported operations

The 2025-26 General Fund is $38.0 million, with 88% reported as state funding.

Local option budget

Turner sets this fund at 31% of the General Fund, below the 33% state limit.

Facilities and technology

An 8-mill capital outlay funds maintenance, annual improvements, and technology purchases.

Spending gap

Current district publications do not report total spending per student on a comparable basis.

The official district-news archive explains major initiatives, but it is not a substitute for complete agendas, packets, and approved minutes.

What is on the public record

2025-26 General Fundverified
38.012 million dollars
General Fund paid by stateverified
88 percent
Spending per studentcontext
Not reported not available

The current publications do not provide total spending and enrollment on a matching basis.

Major projects

Turner High School weight room

Construction planned

The district plans a new weight room near the Aquatics Center for athletics and physical education.

Next: The district needs to publish a construction schedule, cost, and opening date.
  1. District said construction would begin in the coming months.

Funding

The official publication does not state the project amount or funding source.

Staff childcare center at Turner Middle School

Planned for August 2027

The district plans to remodel unused middle-school space for staff childcare, with some high school student participation.

Next: Complete remodeling and publish enrollment, staffing, and opening details.
  1. District announced the plan and expected opening by August 2027.

Funding

The official publication does not state the project amount or funding source.

Recent news

Reviewed all 26 current official district publications from November 2025 through August 2026. Nineteen older records accidentally collected during the first run were date- and hash-checked separately; material annual messages and a grant publication were also reviewed.

Get alerts for Turner-Kansas City

We read every agenda, packet, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district