District overview
Uniondale Union Free School District
Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.
How is Uniondale paid for?
Uniondale is a New York union free school district. Its voters approve the budget and elect board trustees every May. The 2025-26 proposed budget of $286.1 million was paid for mostly by two sources: state aid (about 42%) and the local property tax levy (about 48%), with smaller payments in lieu of taxes (PILOTs) and savings. New York's property tax cap limits how much the levy can grow each year.
State aid is the biggest lever
Gross state aid was budgeted at $119.9 million for 2025-26, up 8.77% from $110.2 million, and is the largest revenue line.
Tax levy limited by the cap
The 2025-26 levy was proposed at $137.9 million, up 2.5% ($3.36 million), equal to the tax-cap figure that year. The district estimated about $146 more for the median home.
PILOT payments are growing
Payments in lieu of taxes from local property owners rose from $10.2 million to a budgeted $12.0 million (up 17.88%).
Reserves cushion the budget
As of June 30, 2024 the district held reserves such as retirement contributions ($14.0 million) and capital ($4.0 million); some need voter approval to spend.
These numbers are from the 2025-26 budget documents. The 2026-27 budget voted in May 2026 is not in the documents collected for this page, so current-year figures may differ.
Where the district stands
Up 7.25% from $266.7 million in 2024-25.
Up 2.5% from $134.6 million.
Up from $110.2 million.
Federal NCES figure, not stated in the collected district documents.
Calculation: $286.1 million proposed 2025-26 budget divided by about 6,211 students. It covers everything the district spends, including debt, benefits and tuition for students placed outside the district.
Minutes and agendas are on BoardDocs, which could not be collected.
Major projects
Strategic plan renewal (2027-2032)
Community input startingThe 2022-2027 strategic plan, built around the promise that every scholar is empowered, responsible, resilient and prepared for leadership, college and careers, ends after 2026-27. A Sept. 30, 2026 letter says the district will survey and meet with students, families and staff to write the next five-year plan.
- Current strategic plan adopted (July 2022; no day given)
- District letter announces the renewal process
Funding
Not stated in the letter
No cost was given.
Capital reserve repairs proposition (2025)
Outcome not in collected documentsThe 2025-26 budget package included a proposition to spend up to $1.5 million from the capital reserve on a safety fence at Grand Avenue School, sidewalks and parking lots, exterior LED lighting and irrigation for athletic fields. Voting was set for May 20, 2025.
- Budget hearing presents the proposition
- Scheduled vote
Funding
Capital Reserve Fund (established May 18, 2021); voter approval required
Up to $1,500,000 across four items.
2026-27 district-wide school safety plan
Updated plan postedThe district posted an updated 2026-27 district-wide school safety plan, required each year under New York law. The posted file is still headed as the Nassau BOCES template, so it may not yet be customized for Uniondale.
- Updated 26-27 plan listed on the district website (posted date not shown; date of our check)
Funding
Not stated
Plan document, no cost given.
Built from official documents the district posts on its website (budget presentations, strategic plan and renewal letter, Policy 5695, safety plans, audit reports) plus the district's Meeting Dates and Voting Information pages. The board's agendas and minutes live on BoardDocs, which could not be collected, so this page describes the district's budget and plans more than individual board decisions.
Get alerts for Uniondale Union Free School District
We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.
View alerts for this district