ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

William Floyd Union Free School District

How the district is paid for, who runs it, and what is being built.

How is William Floyd paid for?

Mostly state aid, with a voter-approved budget every May

William Floyd serves Mastic, Mastic Beach, Shirley, Moriches and nearby communities in Suffolk County, Long Island. Its 2026-27 budget is $332.5 million. About three-quarters comes from New York State aid, and the rest mostly from local property taxes. Each year in May, residents vote on the budget and elect trustees. The state limits how much the property tax levy can grow, and a budget that stays under that cap needs a simple majority.

State aid is the biggest source

The budget plan counts on about $244.5 million of state aid for 2026-27, up $6.1 million, including $197.5 million of Foundation Aid. These aid figures were based on the Governor's proposal and still labeled 'not final' at the May 12 hearing.

Property tax levy: $81.99 million

The levy rises 0.99%, from $81.185 million. The state tax cap for the year was $84.33 million. Voters passed the budget 864 to 246 on May 19, 2026.

Three-part budget

Program spending is $284.1 million (86%), administration $34.4 million (10%) and capital $13.9 million (4%). Instruction is the largest category at about $186 million; transportation costs $31.9 million for more than 200 buses and monitors.

Savings and reserves

The district keeps reserves for repairs, capital work, workers' compensation and more. Its 2026-27 report card lists $17.4 million in the capital reserve and $8.5 million in repair reserves at March 31, 2026, and plans to use $3 million of fund balance to lower the levy, down from $4 million.

A late state budget and proposed aid numbers mean the final picture can change. Nothing in these records shows financial trouble: the state Comptroller's fiscal-stress rating shown to the public in February was 'No Designation'.

Where the district stands

2026-27 adopted budgetverified
$332,475,894

Up $6,496,170 (1.99%) from $325,979,724 in 2025-26.

Property tax levyverified
$81,992,000

Up 0.99% from $81,185,000. The state tax cap for the year was $84,325,632.

Public school enrollment (district report)verified
10,830 students

Up from 10,750 the year before. Federal NCES counts for this district are lower (about 9,166), so definitions differ.

Budget per studentcontext
$30,700

Context: $332,475,894 divided by 10,830 students. Includes benefits, transportation, debt and facilities, not only classroom spending.

Budget vote resultverified
864 yes, 246 no votes
Estimated tax rate per $100 assessed valueverified
$245.93

About $48 more per year for an average assessed home (assessed value 1,995), per the district.

Transportation budgetverified
$31,882,000

106 large and 105 small buses; over 5,850 miles driven daily.

Major projects

2025 districtwide capital project

Approved by voters March 26, 2025; construction progress not in the collected records

A $78.5 million plan to repair and upgrade all nine school buildings. The largest piece is a 36,000 sq ft Career and Technical Education addition at the high school, plus a Medical Assisting expansion, new entrances, science and music room upgrades, a Paca Middle School library and security office, and middle school fields and track work.

Next: Not stated in the collected records; check the district's capital project page for construction updates.
  1. Five-year building condition survey presented
  2. Final public presentation
  3. Voters approve project, 618 to 105

Funding

$21 million from three capital reserves (2021, 2022, 2024) plus up to $57.5 million in bonds, with state building aid reimbursing about 87.9%

Repair reserve spending

Hearing held March 10, 2026

Voters approved a $6 million repair reserve in May 2024. A public hearing in March 2026 presented districtwide paving, sidewalks, curbing and fencing at an estimated $2.625 million.

Next: Work timing is not stated in the collected records.
  1. Voters approve $6 million repair reserve, 813 to 297
  2. Public hearing on proposed repairs

Funding

Voter-approved repair reserve fund

All-day phone and device ban

In effect since the 2025-26 school year (adopted July 2, 2025)

Policy 7316 keeps internet-enabled devices stored away for the full school day. The district must publish a yearly enforcement report starting September 1, 2026.

Next: First annual enforcement report (due September 1, 2026); not found in the collected records.
  1. Board adopts Policy 7316
  2. First annual enforcement report due

Funding

No separate funding stated

Figures come from the district's 2026-27 budget documents, budget forum slides, state-required Property Tax Report Card and budget notice, capital project pages, and board policy postings on wfsd.k12.ny.us. Calculations are marked context.

Get alerts for William Floyd Union Free School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district