ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Yazoo County School District

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

What Yazoo County’s current public records show

Audited finances, district plans, family rules, and monthly Board scheduling are public; detailed Board business is unavailable.

FY2025 General Fund operations drew primarily on local and state revenue, while current publications describe district rules and future plans. The Board page identifies five district seats and a first-Tuesday meeting rule.

Auditors reported two material weaknesses

The repeat financial-reporting weakness covers adjustments, construction assets, reconciliations, purchasing, debt and payroll approvals; a separate ESSER finding was both a material weakness and noncompliance.

The ESSER adjustment was covered with local funds

Auditors removed an unsupported $842,663 federal receivable and revenue and the district transferred District Maintenance funds; questioned costs were zero because federal funds were not charged after adjustment.

General Fund operations relied mainly on local and state revenue

The audit reports $8.81 million in local revenue, $8.91 million in state revenue and $1.00 million in sixteenth-section revenue in the General Fund. Districtwide federal revenue of $4.49 million was reported in other funds, not the General Fund.

Five district seats govern the school system

The current handbook identifies members for Districts One through Five, and the official Board page says meetings normally occur on the first Tuesday at 5:00 p.m.

General Fund expenditures exceeded revenue

FY2025 General Fund revenue was $18.72 million and expenditures were $19.96 million; the audit reports a $1.82 million fund-balance decrease and $5.40 million ending balance after other financing.

Student device use is restricted during school hours

The current handbook treats unauthorized use as a Level B offense and escalates confiscation; it does not state a blanket possession ban.

No explicit generative-AI policy was found

The current student handbook, employee handbook, technology policies and five-year technology plan were checked; generic acceptable-use rules were not relabeled as AI policy.

Financial-statement and major-program opinions were unmodified, and questioned costs were zero; those facts do not erase the separately reported material weaknesses. Management responses are plans and were not audited outcomes.

Where the district stands

FY2025 General Fund revenueverified
18,723,487 USD
FY2025 General Fund expendituresverified
19,962,622 USD
FY2025 ending General Fund balanceverified
5,395,794 USD
FY2025 General Fund local revenueverified
8,811,449 USD
FY2025 General Fund state revenueverified
8,909,621 USD
FY2025 General Fund sixteenth-section revenueverified
1,002,417 USD

Major projects

Classroom additions

construction in progress at FY2025 fiscal year end

Audit Note 5 reports $4,486,862 in accumulated construction-in-progress costs and no remaining commitment at June 30, 2025. The amount is cost incurred, not a stated total project budget, and the reviewed source does not establish current completion.

Next: The reviewed audit does not state a next approval, construction, or completion milestone.
  1. FY2025 audit reports construction-in-progress costs and no remaining commitment.

Funding

The FY2025 audit reports construction-in-progress costs but no complete project budget.

Parking lot project

construction in progress at FY2025 fiscal year end

Audit Note 5 reports $650,898 in accumulated construction-in-progress costs and no remaining commitment at June 30, 2025. The amount is cost incurred, not a stated total project budget, and the reviewed source does not establish current completion.

Next: The reviewed audit does not state a next approval, construction, or completion milestone.
  1. FY2025 audit reports construction-in-progress costs and no remaining commitment.

Funding

The FY2025 audit reports construction-in-progress costs but no complete project budget.

Recent news

This page uses the exact official Board page, current student and employee handbooks, district technology and planning publications, and the Mississippi Office of the State Auditor archive. All nine stored originals were reviewed completely; image-only technology and family plans were checked visually.

Get alerts for Yazoo County School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district