How Archbold's schools are paid for and who decides
A rural Fulton County district that relies mostly on local property taxes and voter-approved levies
Archbold Area Local Schools runs an elementary, a middle and a high school in Archbold, Ohio, for about 1,148 students. Most of its money comes from local property taxes, 57.6% in FY2025 according to the district, while the state provides 30.7%. Because local levies carry so much of the budget, voters regularly decide renewals, including a current-expense levy renewal the board sent to the May 2026 ballot. A five-member elected Board of Education sets policy and the budget. It works with Superintendent Jayson Selgo and a treasurer, who keeps the five-year financial forecast.
Local taxes pay most costs
Local sources gave 57.6% of revenue in FY2025; the state gave 30.7% and federal/other sources 11.7% (district fact sheet).
Below-average cost per pupil
The district reports $14,635 per pupil, compared with a state average of $17,609 (FY2025 state profile).
Building debt paid off early
The district prepaid its school building bonds so the 0.30-mill debt tax ended a year early, after the December 2025 payment.
Leadership locked in
In April 2026 the board extended the superintendent's contract through July 2032 and gave all three principals three-year contracts from August 2027.
The board meeting summaries list actions but not discussion or vote counts, so they show what was approved but not why or how close the decisions were.
Where the district stands
Average cost per pupil, FY2025 (state average $17,609)verified
14,635 USD
K-12 students enrolled (2026)verified
1,148 students
Share of revenue from local sources, FY2025verified
57.62 percent
Share of spending on salaries and benefits, FY2025verified
79.73 percent
Graduation rateverified
96.1 percent
Student Wellness and Success funding, FY2027verified
106,274 USD
Major projects
Current-expense levy renewal
sent to the May 5, 2026 ballot; result not in board records
The board passed the two resolutions needed to put a renewal of an existing day-to-day operating levy before voters. A renewal continues the existing tax rather than adding new money.
Next: The certified result from the Fulton County Board of Elections is not in the collected records.
Resolutions of necessity and to proceed approved
Tax rates accepted from the county budget commission
Primary election ballot
Funding
Local property tax (renewal)
Miller Athletic Complex (donated fieldhouse)
gift accepted September 2026
The board accepted the gift of a multi-use fieldhouse. The minutes do not state its value or the terms.
Next: Not stated in board summaries.
Board accepts gift
Funding
Private gift
Treasurer/CFO transition
completed July 2026
The longtime treasurer resigned in March 2026. The district shared Wauseon's treasurer for a few months and then hired Connie Nicely on a three-year contract.
Next: The five-year forecast update is due in November 2026 (an Ohio requirement; not stated in the summaries).
Resignation accepted
Shared treasurer with Wauseon approved
New treasurer hired
New treasurer starts
Funding
General fund
Local elections & school board members
Elections & votes
Public voteOn the ballot
Renewal of current-expense tax levy (May 5, 2026)
Archbold Area Local School District
On January 12, 2026, the board passed a resolution to proceed with an election on renewing a current-expense levy for day-to-day costs. The certified result is not in the collected records; news reports said it passed in unofficial returns.
Board of Education meeting summaries (Google Docs and Drive PDFs) and the October 2026 agenda linked from the district's Google Sites board page, covering October 20, 2025 through October 19, 2026. Also district financial fact sheets, FY2027 wellness and disadvantaged-pupil plans, and Neola policies 5136 (phones) and 7540.09 (AI).
Get alerts for Archbold Area Local School District
We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.