ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Canajoharie Central School District

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Who makes districtwide decisions?

One elected board governs three schools

The Canajoharie Board of Education oversees East Hill Elementary, Canajoharie Middle School, and Canajoharie High School. It adopts the district budget and policies, approves staffing and contracts, and places major spending questions before district voters.

Board records are public

The official BoardDocs feed lists 27 meetings and committee sessions in this review window, including finance, transportation, policy, budget, and joint merger meetings.

Voters decide the operating budget

The meeting record tracks the 2026-27 budget from committee review through the May vote and June certification.

A merger was explored

Joint meetings with Fort Plain discussed merger options, focus-team recommendations, and an advisory vote.

The phone rule is bell to bell

Internet-enabled personal devices must be turned off and stored for the full instructional day, subject to documented exceptions.

The collected agenda feed is broad, but some underlying BoardDocs attachments cannot be directly retained. This page distinguishes listed proposals from verified outcomes.

Where the district stands

District schoolscontext
3 schools

One elementary, one middle, and one high school.

NCES enrollmentcontext
869 students

Contextual latest enrollment used for this overview.

Phone-policy incidentsverified
129 incidents

Incidents during 2025-26 involved 83 unique students.

High-school phone incidentsverified
124 incidents

The report assigns 124 of 129 incidents to the high school.

Disciplined students with IEP/504verified
21.7%

Students with IEPs or 504 plans were about 16% of district enrollment but 21.7% of disciplined students.

Major projects

Phone-policy disability mitigation plan

Corrective steps announced for 2026-27

After finding a statistically significant disparity for students with IEPs or 504 plans, the district announced training, accommodation reviews, restorative interventions, and quarterly enforcement audits.

Next: Publish the next enforcement audit and assess whether the disparity narrows
  1. District publishes its annual enforcement analysis and mitigation plan

Funding

District operations

The official report does not state a separate project cost.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain merger review

Joint study and advisory-vote process recorded

The two boards held joint meetings on merger options and focus-team recommendations. The collected meeting feed records the process but not enough outcome detail to support a completed-action alert.

Next: Continue monitoring joint-service or merger decisions in later board records
  1. Joint board meeting discusses merger process options
  2. Joint board meeting hears focus-team recommendations and a finance presentation
  3. Canajoharie agenda lists certification of advisory-vote results

Funding

Not stated in the collected meeting feed

No merger implementation budget is claimed.

Recent news

Built from the district's complete official BoardDocs meeting feed, its annual device-policy enforcement report, and NCES directory context. Claims of completed action are limited to what the collected records establish.

Get alerts for Canajoharie Central School District

We read every agenda, packet, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district