ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Fowler Public Schools

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Who runs Fowler's schools, and how are they paid for?

A 437-student district with a new superintendent/principal and a budget that draws on savings

Fowler Public Schools serves about 437 students in the village of Fowler in Clinton County, Michigan, at Waldron Elementary/Middle School and Fowler High School. A seven-member elected Board of Education sets the budget, approves contracts and policies, and hires the superintendent, who also serves as high school principal. The board meets on the second Monday of each month, now at 5:30 p.m., in the high school media center.

New leader after a sudden change

The superintendent/principal left under a separation agreement in May 2026. After public interviews, the board hired Christopher Smith in August.

About $6.3 million a year

The 2026-27 general fund budget spends about $6.31 million against $6.18 million in revenue, drawing about $136,000 from savings.

Mostly state funded

Michigan per-student state aid is about $5.3 million of the district's roughly $6.2 million in revenue.

New teachers' contract

A three-year agreement with the Fowler Education Association runs from 2026 to 2029.

The board posts approved minutes, budgets and its audit, and ran its superintendent interviews in public, with dozens of residents speaking. Agendas are not posted before meetings, so residents may not know what is coming up.

Where the district stands

Students (NCES)context
437 students

Context: NCES district enrollment figure.

General fund revenue, 2026-27 budgetverified
6,178,169 USD
General fund spending, 2026-27 budgetverified
6,313,966 USD
Projected fund balance, June 2027verified
1,072,941 USD
Debt outstanding, June 30, 2025verified
18,082,519 USD

Major projects

Facilities and possible bond planning

planning

In early 2026 the board heard from bond and architecture firms about facility assessments and bond campaigns. No new bond proposal appears in the posted minutes.

Next: Not stated in posted minutes
  1. Pinkster Tower bond process presentation
  2. Kingscott facilities and campaign presentation
  3. About $11,000-$12,000 approved for footpath paving

Funding

Not stated; existing 2020-2023 building bonds total about $18 million outstanding

Recent news

Approved board minutes, district news posts, budgets, the 2024-25 audit, the teachers' contract and student handbooks posted on the Fowler Public Schools website, from November 2025 to October 2026.

Get alerts for Fowler Public Schools

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.