ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Kenmore-Tonawanda Union Free School District

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Where does Ken-Ton's money come from?

Local taxes and state aid, about 88% of revenue

Kenmore-Tonawanda is an ordinary formula-funded New York district. Its 2026-27 budget is $203,967,000. Property taxes pay about half and state aid about 38.5%, with the rest from sales tax, other income and savings. New York caps how fast the tax levy can grow, and voters approve the budget each May.

Property tax: about $100.1 million (49%)

The levy rose 2.31% for 2026-27, from $97.8 million. The state tax-cap formula limited the increase. The estimated tax rate is $60.53 per $1,000 of assessed value, up from $59.16.

State aid: about $78.5 million (38.5%)

Mostly Foundation Aid. The district is a 'save harmless' district, meaning the state guarantees at least a small yearly increase (proposed at 1%).

Savings: $8.65 million used

The district planned to use $8.65 million of its fund balance. Its total fund balance was $44.9 million on June 30, 2025, of which $29.6 million is in restricted reserves.

Spending: instruction 56%, benefits 23%

Instruction is $113.6 million and employee benefits $47.1 million (health insurance is the largest driver). Debt service is $16.7 million, transportation $6.9 million.

A $5.5 million gap was closed in spring 2026 partly with one-time savings. This does not show the district is in trouble: reserves are large and voters approved the budget by about 80%.

Where the district stands

2026-27 budgetverified
203,967,000 dollars

Up $6,062,081 (3.06%) from $197,904,919 in 2025-26.

Tax levy increaseverified
2.31 percent

Prior four-year average 2.10%.

K-12 enrollment, 2024-25context
6,301 students

From the NYSED data site page reproduced in the 2026-27 budget book. The tax-cap form lists 6,649 (2025-26) and 6,771 (2026-27) public school enrollment, which uses a different count.

Budget per K-12 student (calculated)context
32,370 dollars

$203,967,000 divided by 6,301 students. It includes debt, transportation, benefits and services for private-school students, so it is not a classroom figure.

General fund balance, June 30 2025verified
44,872,098 dollars

Includes $29.6 million restricted reserves and $7.8 million unassigned.

Budget vote, May 19 2026 (yes/no)context
973 / 242 votes

From the district's budget information page.

Major projects

2027-28 budget and board election

Planning begins this fall

The Board follows an annual cycle: budget calendar in October, work sessions February to March, adoption April 13, hearing May 11, and the public vote with a board election on May 18, 2027.

Next: November 10, 2026 regular Board meeting
  1. Regular meeting (budget calendar customarily set in October)
  2. Budget work session
  3. Budget work session
  4. Budget adoption meeting
  5. Public budget hearing
  6. Budget vote and Board election

Funding

Local property tax, state aid and fund balance

All-day device ban (Policy 7316)

In effect, plan revised August 2026

Students may not use phones or smartwatches anywhere on school grounds all day; devices are stored in lockers.

Next: Ongoing enforcement; no further date published
  1. State law requires districts to adopt a bell-to-bell policy (May 2025)
  2. District implementation plan revised

Funding

Operating budget (classroom phone lockers cost not stated)

School security model

In place for 2025-26

One armed officer per school through the Tarian Group, daily weapons screening in middle and high schools, and added unarmed security officers.

Next: No published next step
  1. 2025-26 school year began with the new security staffing (month from district newsletter)

Funding

Operating budget; cost not stated in collected records

Local elections & school board members

Elections & votes

Board electionScheduled

2027 Board of Education election and budget vote

Annual vote for school board seats and the 2027-28 budget. The district clerk's schedule lists the seat of the trustee whose term ends in 2027 (Frederick Floss, per the board roster) as the expiring term; candidate filing is not yet announced.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

Public votePassed

2026-27 school budget (Proposition 1)

$203,967,000

Voters approved the $203,967,000 budget 973 to 242.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

Public votePassed

School bus replacement purchase (Proposition 2)

$1,400,000

Voters approved buying buses and a service vehicle at an estimated maximum cost of $1.4 million, 941 to 258.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

Board electionPassed

2026 Board of Education election (two seats)

Karen Whitelaw (1,050 votes) and Lee Ann Vogt (1,049) were elected unopposed to terms ending June 30, 2029.

Official source · verified Oct 20, 2026

School board members

Recent news

Built from the district's published budget presentations, budget book and notice, board meeting schedule, phone policy, and district newsletter, read in October 2026. Board agendas and minutes are not covered.

Get alerts for Kenmore-Tonawanda Union Free School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district