ourschoolboard.org

District overview

Logan Municipal Schools

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Editorial graphic for Logan Municipal Schools
Editorial caption by Our School Board; base: Carl Hårleman · public-domain

How is Logan Municipal Schools paid for?

Mostly state formula money, plus state building grants

Logan Municipal Schools is a small rural district in Logan, Quay County, New Mexico, with about 210 students in one elementary and one middle/high school campus, plus the Ute Lake Online Learning Center. Like most New Mexico districts, most of its operating money comes from the state's funding formula (the State Equalization Guarantee), which pays per student. Building projects lean on state Public School Capital Outlay Council (PSCOC) awards, local SB-9 capital money and bonds. A five-member elected board sets policy and hires the superintendent, Mr. Perschbacher.

State building awards

In November 2025 the board accepted two PSCOC awards of $150,000 and $100,000.

FY2027 budget

Presented May 5 and approved 4-0 on May 11, 2026; the total is not in the posted minutes.

Projects

A drainage project (Rymarc Construction) finished by August 2026; the culinary arts (FACS) room project followed; a parking garage RFP was approved in September 2026.

Board

President Toby Willis, Vice President Kene Terry, Secretary Taylor Smith, Jimmy Neece and Russell Bruhn. Meetings are usually the second Tuesday at 5:30 p.m., with Zoom access.

The board posts agendas and signed minutes for nearly every meeting. The minutes are short, so the reasons behind votes and dollar amounts are often missing.

Where the district stands

Elementary enrollment (Oct 2025)verified
97 students
Middle school enrollment (Oct 2025)verified
42 students
High school enrollment (Oct 2025)verified
74 students
State capital outlay (PSCOC) awards accepted, Nov 2025context
250,000 USD

Sum of two awards of $150,000 and $100,000 listed in the November 11, 2025 minutes; the sum is a calculation.

Students with IEPs, 80th-day countverified
34 students

Major projects

Drainage project

completed (by August 2026)

Drainage work, first described as a pre-K drainage project, awarded to Rymarc Construction.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Superintendent says work will begin June 1, 2026
  2. Award letter tabled
  3. Awarded to Rymarc Construction
  4. Reported complete

Funding

Not stated in minutes

Culinary arts (FACS) project

under construction (fall 2026)

Renovation for the family and consumer science / culinary arts program. The award letter was tabled twice in spring 2026.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Award letter tabled
  2. Award letter tabled again
  3. Rymarc Construction moved on to FACS work

Funding

Not stated in minutes

Parking garage

request for proposals approved

The board approved an RFP for a parking garage with recommended changes; a related real estate transaction was on the October 13, 2026 agenda.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Board votes to buy 202 B N 2nd Street
  2. Parking garage RFP approved
  3. Real estate transaction and RFP on agenda

Funding

Not stated

District strategic plan

in development

The board has held work sessions before regular meetings to develop a strategic plan.

Next: [object Object]
  1. First work session
  2. Work session
  3. Work session cancelled (no quorum)
  4. Work session

Funding

n/a

Recent news

View the news feed →

Resources

Practical guides to school phone policies, district budgets, and administrator hiring.

Explore resources →

Built from the board's posted agendas and signed minutes (October 2025 to October 2026) and the July 2026 Parent/Student Handbook on the district's website (files.smartsites.parentsquare.com). Most minutes are scanned and were read with OCR.

Get alerts for Logan Municipal Schools

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.