ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

San Diego Unified School District

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

How is this district funded and governed?

California formula-funded district with an elected five-member board

San Diego Unified receives state Local Control Funding Formula money tied mainly to attendance and student needs, plus federal, local, and voter-approved bond funds. Five trustees make districtwide decisions, including the budget, school boundaries, calendars, policies, senior leadership, and facility plans.

The board adopts the operating plan

On June 23, 2026, the board adopted both the 2026-27 budget and Local Control and Accountability Plan and said more budget solutions would be needed in the next two years.

Bond money is separate

Existing Propositions S and Z and Measures YY and U pay for capital work. In July 2026, the board also placed a new repair and student-safety bond on the November ballot.

Trustees are elected from geographic areas

The board has five trustee districts. The district publishes a central Board Services email, phone number, meeting records, and individual meeting videos.

The collected action summaries prove board actions but do not contain the full adopted budget tables, so this page does not claim a current per-student spending amount.

Where the district stands

Elected trustee seatsverified
5 seats

The board also seats student trustees.

Existing bond sales authorized June 2026verified
795,000,000 $ up to

Up to $125 million Proposition S, $350 million Measure YY, and $320 million Measure U bonds.

Current per-student spendingcontext
Not established data gap

The collected summaries confirm budget adoption but do not reproduce the adopted budget tables needed for a sound per-student calculation.

Major projects

Repair and student-safety bond measure

On the November 3, 2026 ballot

The board approved placing a general obligation bond for school repairs and student safety on the ballot. The district describes it as having no tax-rate increase.

Next: Voters decide the measure on November 3, 2026.
  1. First reading recorded
  2. Board approved placing the measure on the ballot
  3. Scheduled election

Funding

General obligation bonds repaid through property taxes

The Board Action Summary does not state the bond's principal amount.

Affordable workforce housing on district land

Developers selected; due diligence and negotiations next

In January 2026, the board selected developers for housing at Normal Street, the former Irving Street warehouse, Ballard Center, and Revere Center.

Next: Staff complete due diligence and negotiate final term sheets.
  1. Developers selected for Normal Street and Irving Street
  2. Developers selected for Ballard and Revere centers

Funding

Future development and joint-occupancy agreements

The collected summaries do not establish final costs or executed term sheets.

Learner-centered technology use

Resolution adopted

The board adopted a learner-centered technology use resolution in June 2026. The collected summary establishes adoption but not the full rules or implementation schedule.

Next: District implementation guidance and school-level rollout.
  1. Board adopted the resolution

Funding

Not stated in the collected summary

No project cost is established.

Recent news

Built from the district's Board Action Summaries, permitted Diligent archive, and machine transcripts from official captioned meeting videos for August 26, 2025 through September 1, 2026.

Get alerts for San Diego Unified School District

We read every agenda, packet, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district