ourschoolboard.org

District overview

School District 27J

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Who runs 27J schools and how are they funded?

Fast-growing formula-funded district with large voter-approved bond and override programs

School District 27J serves Brighton, Commerce City, Thornton and nearby areas in Adams County with about 23,000 students. A seven-member elected Board of Education governs under a 'Policy Governance' model and meets on the second and fourth Wednesdays; Superintendent Will Pierce is the chief executive. Day-to-day costs come from the state school finance formula. Voters have also approved bonds for buildings (about $248 million in 2015 and $550 million in 2021) and a 2022 mill levy override. Citizen oversight committees review spending on the bonds and the override.

Bonds

The Aug. 26 recording says the final 2021 bond issuance in May 2026 used all the bonds voters authorized in 2021. The board considered Series 2026A bonds of up to $113.6 million and refunding bonds of up to $149.4 million in April.

Building plans

$92 million set aside for a planned Middle School 7 was reallocated toward a $37 million Rocky Vista High School classroom wing, leaving about $60 million for a PK-8 school.

Governance

Tom Green is president and Melinda Carbajal is vice president. Four seats were filled in Nov. 2025; four more seats have terms ending in 2027.

Budget

The board adopted the 2026-27 budget and fee schedule on June 10; the budget documents were attachments and were not collected.

Most figures here come from agenda text and auto-generated captions. Totals for the adopted 2026-27 budget, enrollment and final votes were not in the collected records.

Where the district stands

General Obligation Bonds, Series 2026A (maximum)verified
113,585,000 dollars
Refunding bonds, Series 2026B (maximum)verified
149,365,000 dollars
Enrollment (federal school directory)context
23,139 students

Major projects

Rocky Vista High School phase 2 classroom wing

funded

The bond oversight committee recommended in June and the superintendent approved moving funds from a planned Middle School 7 to complete Rocky Vista High School to its planned capacity.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Oversight committee recommends reallocation (reported Aug. 26)
  2. Reported to the board

Funding

2021 voter-approved bond (reallocated funds)

Series 2026A and 2026B bond sales

issued per Aug. 26 report

The board considered authorizing up to $113.6 million of new bonds and up to $149.4 million of refunding bonds on April 22.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Authorizing resolution on agenda
  2. Final 2021 bond issuance closed in May (day not stated; per Aug. 26 report)

Funding

General obligation bonds repaid by property taxes

The STEAD School charter renewal

renewal contract on agenda

A renewal contract for June 1, 2026 to June 30, 2031 was on the May 27 agenda.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Renewal process study session
  2. Renewal contract on agenda

Funding

Not stated

Recent news

View the news feed →

Resources

Practical guides to school phone policies, district budgets, and administrator hiring.

Explore resources →

Built from 39 board records collected from the district's Diligent Community portal (agendas for regular meetings, study sessions, planning sessions and joint meetings, Nov. 2025 to Nov. 2026) and auto-generated captions from five board-meeting recordings on the district YouTube channel. Minutes and attachments were not collected.

Get alerts for School District 27J

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.