ourschoolboard.org

School overview

Twin Rivers Charter School

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Editorial graphic for Twin Rivers Charter School
Editorial caption by Our School Board; base: John Muirhead · public-domain

Who runs Twin Rivers Charter School

An independent TK-8 charter run by an appointed nonprofit board

Twin Rivers Charter School is one TK-8 school of about 517 students in Yuba City. It is a public school paid by California's per-student funding formula (LCFF), but it is run by its own five-member board of directors, not by an elected school board. Yuba City Unified authorizes the charter and must renew it for the school to keep operating.

Board is not elected

The five directors are chosen under the school's bylaws. Families cannot vote them in or out at an election.

One director/principal

Chrissy Jolly holds a three-year contract from July 2026 as School Director/Site Principal, with a new assistant principal.

State formula money

About $6.3 million of $9.0 million in 2026-27 revenue comes from the LCFF formula, based on attendance.

Full and in demand

167 families applied for 24 openings in the 2026-27 lottery; most grades have waiting lists.

The school posts detailed agendas and voted minutes for every meeting, and its reserves are growing, so the renewal is not a sign of trouble by itself.

Where the district stands

Students enrolled (end of August 2026)verified
517 students
2026-27 revenue (45-day revision)verified
8,970,595 USD

Up from $8,225,199 in the June budget

2026-27 spending (45-day revision)verified
8,237,965 USD
Projected fund balance, June 30, 2027verified
4,538,325 USD

Up from $3,805,695 at the start of the year

Lottery applications for 24 open seats (2026-27)verified
167 applications
Spending per student, 2026-27context
15,934 USD

Calculated: $8,237,965 / 517 students

Major projects

Charter renewal for 2026-2031

in progress

The school is preparing its renewal petition. The board was set to approve the 2026-2031 petition on October 14, 2026; Yuba City Unified, the authorizer, then decides.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Board notes renewal due next year
  2. Staff input on renewal
  3. Board vote on petition scheduled

Funding

Not applicable

New grading system and math materials

in progress

The board approved JumpRope standards-based grading in June 2026. TK-K math adoption finished in spring 2026; middle school piloted enVision+ and Eureka Math 2.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Math adoption update
  2. JumpRope approved
  3. Grading switch underway

Funding

Not stated

Facilities management plan and HVAC

planned

The board discussed an HVAC compressor inventory and proposal in April 2026 and adopted a facilities management plan in June 2026.

Next: [object Object]
  1. HVAC proposal discussed
  2. Facilities plan approved

Funding

Not stated

Recent news

View the news feed →

Resources

Practical guides to school phone policies, district budgets, and administrator hiring.

Explore resources →

All board agendas and minutes posted on trcs.org from November 2025 to October 2026, School Site Council agendas, the 2026-27 budget and 45-day revision, the 2026 LCAP, the Prop 28 arts report, the certificated salary schedule, and the current smartphone and AI policies.

Get alerts for Twin Rivers Charter School

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.