District overview
Mount Vernon City School District
How Mount Vernon pays for its schools, who decides, and what is underway under state oversight.
Who pays for Mount Vernon's schools, and who is watching?
Mount Vernon is a small city school district in Westchester County. Voters approve the budget each May, and the board sets the property tax levy under the state tax cap. About 53% of the first 2026-27 proposal came from property taxes and 44.4% from state aid, with 2.6% from local sources. The district has been rated in significant fiscal stress by the State Comptroller for several years, used up most of its savings, and in 2025 the state appointed a monitor to oversee its academic and financial plans through June 30, 2027.
The budget needed two votes
Voters rejected the first 2026-27 budget ($276.2 million, 1.99% levy increase) on May 19, 2026. A revised $275,542,563 budget with a 1.5% levy increase passed on June 16, 1,161 to 1,075.
Savings are thin
The state monitor reports the district ended June 2025 with $3.3 million in fund balance, expected about $7.4 million at the end of June 2026, and borrowed $17 million in December 2025 for cash flow.
Costs the district cannot control are rising
The 2026-27 plan includes $17.5 million for charter school tuition (about 850 students not in district schools), about $40 million for special education (up 25%), and $33.5 million for health benefits (up 8.7%).
Who decides
Nine unpaid trustees are elected to three-year terms; a student trustee also sits with the board. The board meets for a work session and a business meeting each month from September through June. The state monitor attends as a non-voting member and reviews each budget before it goes to voters.
The district reports that its tax levy has risen far less than nearby districts over ten years and that all 13 schools meet the state's 'Local Support and Improvement' category. Oversight does not by itself mean schools are failing, and this page does not rate school quality.
Where the district stands
Revised budget passed June 16, 2026; the first proposal was $276,241,856.
The first proposal was 1.99%; the state cap allowed 2.6%. The newsletter estimates $10.98 more a month for a home with a $555,000 market value.
Projected to be about $7.4 million at June 30, 2026, including about $6.65 million unassigned.
Expected to fall about 1.3% from this year and about 1% a year after that. 6,454 students were enrolled in 2023-24.
For more than 850 students; 6.3% of expenses. These students are not counted in district enrollment.
Up 25%; about 21% of students have disabilities (1,374 in 2025-26, up from 1,238 in 2021-22).
District-reported NYSED figure, ranked 10th of 39 Westchester districts. It covers all district spending, not just classrooms.
Down from 1,984 in 2018-19 as enrollment fell.
The 2026-27 budget raises facilities spending 5.8%. The report says 'over $400 million'.
State aid was 44.4% and local revenue 2.6% of the first $276,241,856 proposal.
The district estimates about $6.8 million a year in real savings, not the $17 million total operating cost of the three buildings.
Calculated: $275,542,563 divided by 6,364 projected students. It includes charter tuition, benefits, transportation and debt, so it is not a classroom figure.
Major projects
State monitor's five-year academic and financial plans
Year 2 of 5A state-appointed monitor began work July 15, 2025 and issued plans through 2029-30. Required steps include a board strategic plan by July 1, 2027, a bilingual education administrator, an organization chart, financial controls, a high school course catalog and special education changes. A public hearing on the first annual update was held July 21, 2026.
- Monitor begins work
- Public hearing on proposed plans
- Monitor's analysis of the 2026-27 budget
- Public hearing on annual update
- Monitor's appointment ends unless changed
Funding
District operating budget; state aid advance under a 2025 state law
The monitor reports semiannually to the state education department.
District strategic plan
Planning started fall 2026The monitor found the district had no up-to-date strategic plan. A consultant (K12 Coalition) outlined a process on September 29, 2026 with a steering committee of about 30 people, a survey, focus groups and a plan expected by the end of April 2027.
- Board hears planning process
- First steering committee meeting (said to start the next day)
- Draft plan expected
- Monitor deadline for board adoption
Funding
Not stated in the sources reviewed
Consultant cost was not collected.
K-6 reading and writing program pilot
Pilot under wayFour programs are being tested in 48 classrooms at 10 schools this fall. Vendor presentations are planned for January 2027, followed by a K-6 adoption and teacher training.
- Board hears pilot plan
Funding
Not stated
An earlier $86,000, two-year literacy committee funding was mentioned by a trustee.
Building repairs and capital planning
Capital plan being developedThe district says a building condition survey found more than $400 million of repairs. The 2026-27 budget raises facilities spending 5.8%. A district business official said in September 2026 that a capital improvement plan is expected to begin. State officials who met the superintendent in January named capital help as a need.
- State officials meet the superintendent (reported January 27)
- District reports $400 million-plus in needed repairs
- Business official says a capital improvement plan is coming
Funding
Unfunded beyond the operating budget; the superintendent asked the state for capital support
No bond vote has been scheduled in the sources reviewed.
2027-28 budget and board election
Calendar setThe district calendar lists a budget public hearing on May 4, 2027 and the budget vote and trustee election on May 18, 2027, with June 15 reserved for a revote if needed. Three seats have terms ending June 30, 2027.
- Budget public hearing
- Budget vote and trustee election
- Revote if needed
Funding
Property tax levy and state aid, decided by voters
Recent news
Figures marked verified come from district budget posts, the state monitor's reports and board meeting recordings. Per-student figures are calculations and are marked context. Board meeting details come from auto-generated captions of the district's YouTube recordings because the board's agendas and minutes (BoardDocs) could not be copied.
Get alerts for Mount Vernon City School District
We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.
View alerts for this district