District overview
North Syracuse Central School District
Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.
How is the district paid for, and who decides?
North Syracuse is an ordinary New York school district funded by two main sources: state aid (about 44% of the 2026-27 general fund) and a property tax levy (about 49%). New York's tax cap limits how fast the levy can grow, so the district cannot simply raise taxes to cover rising costs. Nine Board of Education members, elected at large by district voters for staggered three-year terms, adopt the budget, policies and contracts; voters then approve the budget and elect three board seats each year on the third Tuesday of May. Big building projects need a separate public vote, and one is scheduled for December 17, 2026.
Budget of $233.4 million for 2026-27
Voters approved the $233,406,875 budget on May 19, 2026 (1,226 yes, 980 no). That is up 4.2% from $224,048,589 in 2025-26.
State aid is about 44%
The three-part budget shows $102.3 million of state aid (general aid $94.4 million, building aid $7.9 million), which is 43.8% of general fund revenue.
Taxes are limited by the cap, and the levy is rising 5.25%
The tax levy rises to $113,489,914. The district says 2.4 points is for running schools and 2.7 points is the local share of capital projects voters already approved, including the renovated Lakeshore Road Elementary.
Savings are covering a gap
The budget uses $10.45 million of fund balance and reserves, which the district calls not sustainable. Unassigned fund balance is projected at 2.85% of the budget, below the district's 4% target.
The district says its tax levy has grown 3.46% a year on average over six years, below average inflation of 4.29%, and that its tax rate is low compared with other large Central New York districts. These are the district's own comparisons and were not checked against outside data. A clean 2025-26 audit and a TRS pension surplus show the district's books are in good order even as its savings shrink.
Where the district stands
Up from $224,048,589 in 2025-26.
Up 5.25% from $107,824,035.
District says this is not sustainable. Projected unassigned fund balance is $6.66 million at June 30, 2026.
Down 9.4% from 8,124 in 2019-20; projected near 6,545 by 2034-35.
Federal directory figure, which may include pre-K and other counts; it is higher than the district's own K-12 figure above.
$233,406,875 divided by 7,360 students. This is the whole general fund, including transportation, benefits, debt and facilities, and is not what is spent in a classroom.
Includes $26.0 million of reserves; the general fund ran a $703,204 deficit for the year. Unmodified (clean) audit opinion.
The proposed December referendum is about $140.4 million.
Staggered terms, three seats up each May; one non-voting student member.
Counted from posted agendas, roughly every two weeks on Mondays, plus one special meeting on Oct. 13, 2026.
Major projects
Districtwide capital project and December 17, 2026 vote
Public vote scheduled Dec. 17, 2026A project of up to $140.3 million would renovate every school: roofs, heating and cooling (including geothermal-ready systems), classrooms, library and technology spaces, playgrounds, athletic fields and a new CTE/STEM hub at Cicero-North Syracuse High School. The district says the cost is financed over 15 years and raises taxes about 1% a year, or about $22.58 for a $200,000 home with Basic STAR.
- Board workshop on the Utilization Study
- Board asked to approve an architect agreement for pre-referendum work
- Project scope and $140.4 million proposal presented to the board
- Board agenda: environmental review and vote notice
- Public vote, 6 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Funding
Up to $127.8 million of borrowing repaid by local taxes (after state aid, federal tax credits and a NYSERDA grant), up to $8 million of fund balance and $4.5 million from the debt service fund; $5 million state grant for STEM Hub equipment expected in the 2027-28 state budget
Our True North: new grade structure for 2027-28
Planned for fall 2027The district plans grades 9-12 at the high school, grades 7-8 at the junior high, grades 4-6 at two intermediate schools (Roxboro Road and Gillette Road) and PreK-3 at six elementary schools. The district says it will proceed even if the December vote fails. The Early Education Program is to move into Cicero and Roxboro Road Elementary in fall 2027, according to a later district letter.
- Board receives the Utilization Study final report
- Community forum on the study's options
- Superintendent presents Our True North plan
- District says reconfiguration proceeds regardless of the referendum
Funding
Transition costs paid from separate district funds before the vote, per the Oct. 13 presentation; building work depends on the referendum
New strategic plan
Planning started fall 2026The current five-year plan (goals: graduation rate, reading proficiency, emotional competency) ends in 2027. The district opened a community ThoughtExchange through Sept. 30 and committee sessions on Oct. 6 and Oct. 14, 2026.
- Superintendent announces the strategic planning process
- First committee planning session
- Second committee planning session
Funding
Not stated in the posted materials
Special education audit follow-up
Recommendations under reviewAn independent audit recommended more co-taught classes, replacing SERT meetings with MTSS teams and a single leader for PreK-12 special education. The district hired a new Director of Pupil Personnel Services in early 2026 and the board added six teaching assistant positions for special education students on its Oct. 19, 2026 agenda.
- Audit presented to the board
- New Director of Pupil Personnel Services expected to start
- Agenda includes six new special education teaching assistant positions
Funding
Operating budget (cost of recommendations not stated)
Recent news
Figures marked verified come from district budget presentations, the 2026-27 three-part budget, the Utilization Study, board minutes and district news releases, each cited. Per-student and share-of-budget figures are calculations and are marked as context. Information is current to October 20, 2026.
Get alerts for North Syracuse Central School District
We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.
View alerts for this district