ourschoolboard.org Find my school

District overview

Sewanhaka Central High School District

A five-high-school district in western Nassau County, funded by four elementary districts' taxpayers

Who pays for the five high schools, and who decides?

Central high school district: funded by local property tax from four elementary districts

Sewanhaka serves grades 7-12 in five high schools (Elmont Memorial, Floral Park Memorial, H. Frank Carey, New Hyde Park Memorial and Sewanhaka). It has no elementary schools. Residents of four component elementary districts (Elmont, Floral Park-Bellerose, Franklin Square, New Hyde Park-Garden City Park) pay its property tax, and vote on its budget and board at their local elementary district polling places.

Mostly local tax

For 2026-27 the district proposed a tax levy of $173,970,083, up 1.68% from $171,087,934, and about $82.5 million in projected state aid (including $60.0 million of Foundation Aid).

Eight trustees, two per community

Each component elementary district sends two trustees. The 2026-27 board is James Reddan (President), Lynette Battle, Domenico Ciaccio, Binu Jacob, Jaclyn O'Donohue, Rosemarie Peltonen, Stephen Toto and Dr. Shirley Wheeler-Massey; the vice president seat is listed as TBD.

Regular meetings rotate

The board meets the fourth Tuesday of most months at 8:00 p.m., rotating among the five high schools. Five students serve as non-voting ex officio student board members.

Tax cap and voter threshold

The district said a levy within the state tax cap needs a simple majority (50% plus one); exceeding it would need 60%. The 2026-27 levy was presented as cap-compliant.

This page is built from documents on the district website. Board agendas and minutes are on BoardDocs, which could not be collected, so votes and discussion at meetings are mostly not shown.

Where the district stands

Proposed 2026-27 budgetverified
278,105,783 dollars

Up 5.26% from $264,214,795 in 2025-26. Voters were scheduled to decide May 19, 2026; the result is not in the collected record.

Proposed tax levy increaseverified
1.68 percent

Levy of $173,970,083; the district called it tax-cap compliant.

Public school enrollment (2026-27 projected)verified
7,647 students

Down 0.34% from 7,673. The district's distraction-free report counts 7,626 enrolled students.

Proposed spending per studentcontext
36,368 dollars

Context: $278,105,783 divided by 7,647 students. It includes transportation, special education tuition, debt and capital costs, not only classroom spending.

Projected state aid, 2026-27verified
82,468,821 dollars

Includes Foundation Aid $60,043,433 and Transportation Aid $10,603,411.

Transportation increase in proposed budgetverified
4,000,000 dollars

The largest single driver of an $11.6 million Program budget increase; special education adds $3.9 million.

Retirement contribution reserve (June 30, 2024)verified
9,600,001 dollars

One of several reserves; others include a $7.5 million teacher retirement sub-fund and an $8.0 million employee benefit liability reserve.

Students with at least one phone-policy violation, 2025-26verified
2,714 students

35.6% of 7,626 students; 10,097 total violations, each with a parent notification.

Board agendas and minutes collected from BoardDocscontext
0 documents

The district publishes all agendas and minutes since August 2017 on BoardDocs, which cannot be stored from this system.

Major projects

2025 Capital Reserve projects

Put to voters May 19, 2026 (result not in collected record)

A proposition would spend $15 million (plus interest, and about $1 million left from the 2021 reserve) from the 2025 Capital Reserve on air conditioning in all five high school auditoriums, renovating the Carey guidance suite, new cafeteria furniture in all five schools and districtwide repairs. The district said approval carries no added tax cost.

Next: Result of the May 19, 2026 vote is not in the collected record; the next budget vote is May 18, 2027.
  1. Voters created the school district capital reserve (up to $10 million)
  2. Voters approved up to $5,750,000 for cafeterias, kitchens, a CTE expansion and interior upgrades
  3. Voters approved up to $4,250,000 more, exhausting the 2021 reserve
  4. 2025 Capital Reserve approved by voters (per the district's 2026 notice: 'approved by voters in May 2025')
  5. Final budget presentation lists the two capital reserve propositions
  6. Budget vote and capital reserve propositions scheduled

Funding

Capital Reserve (money already set aside); no additional tax per the district

Also $33,989,394 proposed in the 2026-27 capital budget line.

New student immigration-protection policy (Policy 5120)

First review, August 2026

The board reviewed a model policy implementing New York Education Law 3201-b, which keeps school staff from helping immigration enforcement access students or non-public school areas without a federal judicial warrant, and bars asking about immigration status.

Next: Board second review or adoption; the date is not in the collected record.
  1. State law's statutory effective date
  2. Posted for first review

Funding

No dedicated funding; state-required policy

Lead in drinking water remediation

Fixtures removed from service, October 2025

State-required testing in October 2025 found ten fixtures above the 5 parts per billion action level at four of the five high schools. The plan says each was shut off when results arrived and is pending remediation.

Next: Remediation completion is not reported in the collected record; the plan says passing locations need no further action until 2028.
  1. Sampling began
  2. Sampling finished; high-reading fixtures removed from service
  3. Remediation plan posted

Funding

Not stated in the plan

Recent news

Built from the district's budget notice, budget presentations, detailed budget and property tax report card, reserves plan, audit documents, board policy postings and web pages. Figures marked verified appear in a stored district document; per-student figures and comparisons are calculations. BoardDocs agendas and minutes are not included.

Get alerts for Sewanhaka Central High School District

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

View alerts for this district