ourschoolboard.org

District overview

Thompson School District R-2J

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Editorial graphic for Thompson School District R-2J
Editorial caption by Our School Board; base: Carl Hårleman · public-domain

How is Thompson School District paid for?

State per-student funding plus local property taxes, with extra voter-approved levies and bonds

Thompson R-2J serves Loveland, Berthoud and nearby areas in Larimer County, Colorado. Colorado pays districts mainly by a per-student formula, and local property taxes cover part of that cost. Thompson also levies voter-approved extra property taxes (mill levy overrides) and repays voter-approved bonds. A seven-member elected board adopts the budget each June and certifies the mill levy each December.

Property tax rate

The preliminary 2026 total education mill levy is 44.822 mills, about flat from 44.836 in December 2025. The School Finance Act levy is 27.000 mills; three overrides total 11.419 mills and bond repayment is 6.075 mills.

Budget pressure

Staff said revenue is falling because fewer students are enrolled, and state funding rose only about $400,000 for 2026-27. The adopted budget cut about $1 million in administrative jobs, drew about $1.6 million from reserves and used unpaid furlough days.

Reserves

The projected ending fund balance is about 10.58% of budget revenue, inside the board's 5% to 15% reserve rule and above the 3% state TABOR requirement.

Who decides

Seven directors, each elected from one of seven director districts to four-year terms. Regular meetings are usually the third Wednesday at 6 p.m. at 800 S Taft Ave, with study sessions the first Wednesday.

The posted materials give budget decisions and rates but not a full per-student spending figure, so this page does not state one.

Where the district stands

Preliminary 2026 total education mill levyverified
44.822 mills
Preliminary 2026 net assessed valuationverified
3,676,545,441 USD
2025 voter-approved bond authorizationverified
99,000,000 USD
Planned 2026-27 draw on reservesverified
1,600,000 USD
Unpaid furlough days, licensed staff, 2026-27verified
4 days
Enrollment (federal school directory, most recent available)context
14,907 students

External figure from the NCES directory; the board materials read did not state a current headcount.

Major projects

2025 bond projects

funded; bonds authorized December 2025

Voters approved up to $99 million in November 2025. The district says the money is for roof repairs, secure entrances, heating and cooling, and more classroom space in Berthoud, without a new tax rate. The board approved project budgets on Dec 17, 2025 and a budget adjustment on Aug 19, 2026, and appointed a Citizen Bond Oversight Committee.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Voters approve the bond
  2. Board approves project budgets and bond issuance
  3. Citizen Bond Oversight Committee selected
  4. Bond project budget adjustment approved
  5. Oversight committee update to board

Funding

General obligation bonds approved by voters Nov 2025

Mary Blair building repurposed for family services

in progress; name not yet approved

Staff say the former Mary Blair Elementary building is becoming a campus for family services and intensive education programs. A naming committee met Oct 22, 2026 and the board discussed names on Nov 4. The $5,000 signage cost would come from Community Connections property sale proceeds.

Next: [object Object]
  1. Board study session reviews the building's use
  2. Naming committee meets
  3. Name recommendation discussed

Funding

Community Connections property sale proceeds

2026-27 budget balancing

adopted June 17, 2026; planning for 2027-28 under way

The 2026-27 budget was balanced with four furlough days for licensed and administrative staff, two for classified staff, about $1 million in administrator cuts and a reserve draw. Staff estimate restoring the furlough days would cost about $2.5 million, and health insurance may rise about 10%.

Next: [object Object]
  1. First budget draft presented
  2. Study session draft
  3. Budget adopted 5-2
  4. Revenue outlook update after the Nov 3 state ballot

Funding

General fund (state funding and local property taxes) plus reserves

Recent news

View the news feed →

Resources

Practical guides to school phone policies, district budgets, and administrator hiring.

Explore resources →

Built from the board's public meeting portal (agendas, minutes and attached memos, Nov 2025 to Nov 2026), the board's YouTube recordings and the district website.

Get alerts for Thompson School District R-2J

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.