ourschoolboard.org

District overview

Edgecombe County Public Schools

Funding structure, how it compares to peers, and where major projects stand.

Editorial graphic for Edgecombe County Public Schools
Editorial caption by Our School Board; base: Woolrych, Francis Humphry, 1868-1941 · public-domain

How Edgecombe County Public Schools are paid for and who decides

A mostly state-funded, low-performing district with very little savings, rebuilding one high school

Edgecombe County Public Schools runs about 18 public schools in Edgecombe County, North Carolina, including Tarboro, Princeville and part of Rocky Mount. Most money comes from the state, which pays mainly by the number of students, so losing students means losing money. The county adds local money: for 2026-27 the board asked the county for $12,295,261, including over $3.3 million for buildings, after getting $800,000 for buildings the year before. A seven-member Board of Education, elected by district in nonpartisan March elections, sets policy and hires the superintendent.

Savings are thin

Auditors said the general fund ended June 2025 at $389,486, with only $148,179 unassigned, and found repeat money-control problems.

Low-performing status

11 of 17 rated schools were low performing in 2025-26, so the whole district keeps that label, even as the graduation rate rose to 84.1%.

Fewer students, fewer dollars

Leaders tied funding losses to falling enrollment and a small local tax base, and warned about 30 teaching jobs could be cut through attrition.

A big state-funded rebuild

A $62 million state grant plus a county match pays for a new North Edgecombe high school, now out to bid.

Several measures improved: 14 of 18 schools met or exceeded growth in 2025-26, Coker-Wimberly and Southwest Edgecombe left low-performing status, and both early colleges earned an A. Audit problems are about record-keeping and controls; the auditors gave a clean opinion on the financial statements.

Where the district stands

Local budget request to county, 2026-27verified
12,295,261 USD
General fund balance, June 30, 2025verified
389,486 USD
Schools rated low performing, 2025-26 (of 17)verified
11 schools
Four-year graduation rate (was 81.6%)verified
84.1 percent
Students enrolled (NCES Common Core of Data)context
5,299 students

Federal NCES count; not from a collected district record.

Major projects

New North Edgecombe high school ('School of Innovation')

out to bid

The plan keeps the 1973 wing and gym, tears down the 1959 wing (closed in 2025 over structural concerns) and builds about 115,000 square feet for grades 9-12. The August estimate was $65.2 million against $65.1 million available, so a career-tech wing and athletic fields are add-ons only if bids allow. A later PreK-8 phase is not funded. During construction, North Edgecombe students attend in the Phillips Middle building and Phillips students attend at Coker-Wimberly Elementary.

Next: Bids on Dec. 1 and Dec. 10, 2026; the guaranteed price then comes to the board.
  1. Superintendent says project will be phased, high school first
  2. Board approves moving students during construction
  3. Board asks state to move start to January 2027
  4. Design approved to go to construction documents (7-0)
  5. First bid day (second Dec. 10)
  6. Construction to start by this date
  7. Planned opening (January 2029)

Funding

$62 million state school construction grant plus a 5% county match

Phillips Middle School roof replacement

contract awarded

The board applied for $400,000 in lottery money after staff said it was raining inside the building, then awarded the job to B&M Roofing for $437,917 after two rounds of bids. The building now houses North Edgecombe High students.

Next: Completion date not stated in collected records.
  1. Lottery application approved
  2. Roof contract awarded

Funding

State education lottery money (application approved April 2026)

Connections Learning Academy as a standalone alternative school

under way for 2026-27

The board applied to the state to run Connections Learning Academy as its own grades 6-12 alternative school with its own ratings, plus an evening 'Twilight Academy' for credit recovery. Most fully virtual students were told to return to in-person school.

Next: The twilight program was planned to start in the second semester (around January 2027).
  1. Application approved
  2. Staff confirm standalone status for 2026-27

Funding

Not stated in collected records

Recent news

View the news feed →

Resources

Practical guides to school phone policies, district budgets, and administrator hiring.

Explore resources →

Board of Education meeting recordings (November 10, 2025 through October 21, 2026) from the district's official YouTube channel, read through their YouTube auto-generated captions.

Get alerts for Edgecombe County Public Schools

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.