ourschoolboard.org Find my school

State board of education

D.C. State Board of Education

Who sets D.C.'s statewide education standards, and what the board is working on

The DC license plate of a the State Board of Education member from Ward 2
Gimelthedog · cc0

What can the D.C. State Board of Education actually decide?

Elected, nonpartisan board that approves statewide standards and rules but does not run schools

The State Board of Education has nine elected, nonpartisan members, one from each of D.C.'s eight wards plus one at-large. Four student representatives sit with them and cast advisory votes. Since the 2007 mayoral control law, the Mayor runs DC Public Schools through the Chancellor, and the Public Charter School Board oversees charters. OSSE, the state education agency under the Mayor, writes education policy. The State Board's binding power is to approve or reject certain OSSE proposals: academic standards, high school graduation requirements, the state accountability plan and teacher licensure rules. It cannot amend OSSE's final proposals, and members often note that it cannot start policy on its own. Everything else it does is advisory: resolutions, letters, Council testimony and public panels. The board also houses two independent offices that help families: the Ombudsman for Public Education and the Office of the Student Advocate.

Approves, but does not write, state rules

The board votes up or down on OSSE proposals for standards and graduation requirements. In 2026 it postponed one graduation vote in August, then adopted the final package unanimously on September 16.

Nine elected members, four student representatives

There are eight ward seats and one at-large seat with four-year staggered terms, plus four high school student representatives with advisory votes. A Student Advisory Committee of about 150 students reviews resolutions.

Mostly advisory influence over schools

Resolutions on AI, cellphones, kindergarten age and school resource officers are recommendations to OSSE, DCPS, the Public Charter School Board or the Council. The board has no authority over individual DCPS or charter schools.

Four seats on the November 3, 2026 ballot

Wards 1, 3, 5 and 6 are up in the nonpartisan general election. The Ward 5 and Ward 6 incumbents are not running.

Limited formal power does not mean little influence. The board's votes were a final check on the 2026 graduation rewrite. Its public panels and testimony shape Council hearings on screen time, special education transportation and teacher retention.

Where the district stands

Elected board membersverified
9 members
FY2027 budget request (board, Ombudsman and Student Advocate combined)verified
3.7 million dollars (approx.)

Adopted as SR25-15. Staff described it as about 2.7% below FY2026, with city technology charges up about 32%.

Board seats on the November 3, 2026 ballotverified
4 seats
Four-year graduation rate cited by the board presidentcontext
79 percent

Context figure from the DC Policy Center's State of DC Schools 2024-25, presented at the April 1, 2026 working session. In the same discussion the president estimated about 16% of graduates are college and career ready.

Major projects

High school graduation requirements rewrite

Adopted September 16, 2026; OSSE drafting regulations

The changes keep 24 credits and: - add financial literacy and yearly postsecondary planning - allow integrated math in place of Algebra 2 - add six optional endorsements - split PE and health - cut community service to 60 hours - allow competency-based world language credit Proposals to cut science and to create a practical studies diploma were dropped after task force votes.

Next: OSSE regulations, then the first affected class enters 9th grade in 2027-28.
  1. Graduation requirements task force final votes
  2. Board letter to OSSE with recommendations
  3. Board vote postponed 6-3 over world language waiver wording
  4. SR26-14 adopted unanimously

Funding

No dedicated appropriation. Schools carry out the requirements within their existing local per-student funding; implementation costs were not stated in the reviewed records.

Screen time and education technology resolution

Draft in the College, Career, and Life Readiness Committee

After parent testimony about content and privacy on school devices, members are drafting principles: parent transparency, student data privacy, blocking inappropriate content, technology equity, and protecting assistive technology. Members said they will not set a fixed hourly cap.

Next: Committee draft to the full board; no vote date posted.
  1. Committee roundtable on screen time
  2. Working session discusses consensus principles

Funding

Advisory resolution; no funding attached.

Early-career teacher retention report

Sent to the full board October 20, 2026

The Educator Excellence Committee commissioned focus groups with early-career teachers and drafted recommendations to keep new teachers in D.C. schools.

Next: Board vote at the November 18, 2026 public meeting, then briefings with OSSE, DCPS, charter leaders and the teachers' union.
  1. Focus groups completed (34 participants)
  2. Committee votes report out
  3. Full-board vote scheduled at public meeting

Funding

State Board operating budget (vendor study); amount not stated in the reviewed records.

Local elections & school board members

Elections & votes

Board electionScheduled

Ward 1 State Board of Education seat, November 3, 2026 general election

Ward 1

Voters in Ward 1 elect their State Board of Education member for a four-year term (2027-2031). Incumbent Ben Williams is the only candidate listed on the ballot. Board races are nonpartisan; write-ins are allowed.

Official source · verified Oct 26, 2026

Board electionScheduled

Ward 3 State Board of Education seat, November 3, 2026 general election

Ward 3

Voters in Ward 3 elect their State Board of Education member for a four-year term (2027-2031). Incumbent Eric Goulet faces Aaron Wesolowski. Board races are nonpartisan; write-ins are allowed.

Official source · verified Oct 26, 2026

Board electionScheduled

Ward 5 State Board of Education seat, November 3, 2026 general election

Ward 5

Voters in Ward 5 elect their State Board of Education member for a four-year term (2027-2031). Incumbent Robert Henderson is not on the ballot; Jon Alfuth and Lynn Jennings are running for the open seat. Board races are nonpartisan; write-ins are allowed.

Official source · verified Oct 26, 2026

Board electionScheduled

Ward 6 State Board of Education seat, November 3, 2026 general election

Ward 6

Voters in Ward 6 elect their State Board of Education member for a four-year term (2027-2031). Incumbent Brandon Best is not on the ballot; Amber A. Williams, David Parker and Joshua Wiley are running for the open seat. Board races are nonpartisan; write-ins are allowed.

Official source · verified Oct 26, 2026

School board members

Recent news

This page is built from the board's official YouTube recordings, which have auto-generated captions, of public meetings, working sessions, committees and the graduation task force from November 2025 to October 2026. It also uses sboe.dc.gov releases, letters and testimony, the official member biographies, and the DC Board of Elections candidate list. The recordings were reviewed in full.

Get alerts for D.C. State Board of Education

We read every agenda, packet, recording, and set of minutes, and write up the decisions that affect families — each one linked to the document it came from.

Copy the RSS link into your feed reader to get new published alerts.